Ross-shire Welfare Football Association


The aim of the Ross-shire Welfare Football Association is to foster and develop the game of Association football within the areas of Ross-shire and the Black Isle.

Originally known as the "Ross-shire Junior League", which was formed in 1919, "Welfare" football eventually came to the fore in the 1950s and 60s as a means of organising competition between recreational (non-senior) football teams in a way that made doing so fairly inexpensive to the teams involved. Throughout the North of Scotland, Welfare football dominated the summer months while senior football took place during the winter, competing in either the North of Scotland Junior League or the Highland League. Ross-shire in particular had very little representation during the winter, with only Invergordon playing in the junior ranks and Ross County in the HFL. Teams such as Tain Saint Duthus, Alness United, Fortrose Union and Black Rock Rovers (Evanton) were among the first teams to play Welfare football in the late 1950s, before most eventually graduated to the North Caledonian League (formerly the North of Scotland Junior League) in the 1970s, as interest in playing winter football broadened. The loss of these teams gave rise to the creation of several smaller recreational sides, village combinations, works teams, and clubs represented by inns and hotels. These teams would become the heart and soul of the Ross-shire Welfare FA over the next few decades with up to as many as 14 teams competing for honours during a summer season.

In more recent years, many of the towns' teams from the area have returned to "summer" football. The Ross-shire Welfare FA now exists as the only adult football association operating exclusively for the regions of Ross-shire and the Black Isle.

The Association, in its current from, runs its schedule between April and August during a calendar year, with league fixtures played throughout on Wednesday nights, and five cup competitions taking place also, usually played on Saturday afternoons.


Mr L Williams
Vice Chairperson
Mr T Regan
League Secretary
Mr J Patullo
Tel: 01349 853656
Treasurer/Referee Appointments
Mr J MacLeod